Double Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

Today I actually relaxed by wasting away on the couch watching “Gilmore Girls” (I’ve never seen all the seasons. I know, I know.) and I realized a few things:

1.) Lorelai is now younger than I am. She wasn’t in 2000.

2.) Rory has the hair I imagine mine would look like if I was ever patient enough to grow it out.

3.) I want Luke’s job so I can cook/bake/drink coffee all day and mainly be super snarky and get away with it.

4.) Tomorrow is Monday.

giphy

Upon my realization of number four, I poured myself a healthy glass of fine boxed wine and browsed Pinterest. Drinking wine plus pinning ridiculously difficult (but pretty) home decorating ideas makes me happy. So does baking. Which leads me to this post.

I wanted to channel my inner Aunt Pam and bake a bunch of delicious cookies, freeze them, then give them out like candy to unsuspecting guests. Whenever I visit her, I leave with a plethora of baked goods that she magically pulls out of her freezer like she’s the David Copperfield of cookies.

Being that it’s fall and my husband recently bought me six pairs of stretchy, fleece tights as an early birthday gift, it’s okay to over-indulge on baked goods. And cheese (but I’ll leave the cheese-making to cheesemongers).

If you enjoy sweet and salty at the same time, then these cookies are a must.

Double Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

(Recipe Adapted From: Chocolate, Chocolate and More)

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt

Mix the above ingredients together and set aside.

In your stand mixer, mix the following until thoroughly blended:

  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 3/4 c. dark brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs

Once mixed, slowly add the flour mixture. Then, add some crushed up pretzels. I put a few handfuls in a ziploc baggy and took a meat mallet to it. Whatever gets the job done, right?

IMG_4565

I then added a shit-ton of dark chocolate chips and white chocolate chips. Really, there’s no such thing as too many here.

IMG_4566

Next, I chilled the dough for about 30 minutes, or the length of time it took us to eat dinner.

I baked them for about 8-10 minutes. They make about 3-4 dozen, depending on how big/small you like your cookies. I tend to make various sizes for variety and so I don’t feel guilty when I think, “Well, I had six cookies. But they were small.”

Now, back to my “Gilmore Girls” marathon…

IMG_4570

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

