Double Chocolate Banana Bread

I’m not one to eat whole bananas. I prefer them sliced in my cereal or yogurt or blended (otherwise known as a banana whip) topped with chocolate sauce. So it’s not unusual to find over-ripe bananas around the house.

What is unusual is the fact that my dislike of singular bananas is now sort of a joke with my students. The other day, a banana magically appeared on my desk. When I inquired about this to a student, she said another student left it on my desk after snack time. Clearly, I’m not the only one with a distaste for whole bananas because a few days later, another banana made its way onto my desk.

Naturally, this week’s lesson plan includes foods Ms. B. enjoys, in hopes that students take the hint…

Since I happened to be in possession of several very ripeĀ bananas, I wanted to make banana bread. But not just your average run-of-the-mill plain old boring banana bread. After much searching, I finally found the recipe I needed: Double Chocolate Banana Bread.

If you enjoy chocolate as much as I do, then this recipe is a must.

Double Chocolate Banana Bread (recipe adapted from: Simply Recipes)

  • 2.5 very ripe bananas
  • 1/3 c. melted unsalted butter
  • 3/4 c. packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/4 c. cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Grease a 5×9 bread loaf pan and preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut up the bananas and blend in a food processor. This should yield you 1.5 cups of banana mush. Place banana puree (technical term for mush) into a mixing bowl and add the melted butter, brown sugar, and salt. Whisk away until blended and smooth like a baby’s bottom.

Stir in the egg and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, allspice, baking soda and cocoa.

Add everything together. Stir in chocolate chips and spread in baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the top of the loaf cracks and a toothpick comes out clean (Baking times vary – the original recipe called for 60 minutes of baking time, which would have left my loaf very charred. Check your loaf frequently!)

Let cool (or not, if you live in my house) and enjoy with a tall glass of…well, whatever you enjoy dessert with. My preference is a glass of Malbec, but milk would probably also taste delicious.

Here are some pictures from my snazzy iPhone that don’t do the bread justice at all.

Wet ingredients. Make sure the butter is completely melted. Clearly, I'm impatient.

Wet ingredients. Make sure the butter is completely melted. Clearly, I’m impatient.

Before going into the oven.

Before going into the oven.

I forgot to take a "finished product" picture, so here's some of the bread ready to travel on a Greyhound bus and some delicious Green Line coffee.

I forgot to take a “finished product” picture, so here’s some of the bread ready to travel on a Greyhound bus and some delicious Green Line coffee.

This entry was posted in Breads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

