Zucchini Brownies Instead of Pie

One of my best friends recently celebrated a birthday, which coincidentally coincided with book club. While she had high hopes for a pie, I realized well into the work week that a homemade and store-bought pie were out of the question.

I happened to have in my possession quite a few zucchinis thanks to a failed zucchini chips recipe (short story – I went to bed and forgot they were in the oven). So, I text my friend asking if she was a fan of zucchini brownies (she was). Thus, her birthday dessert was in motion.

I added some chocolate chunk chips to the batter (Trader Joe’s version) because more chocolate = better. They came out more cake-like than brownie-like, but none-the-less, they were still super tasty. Many people inquired if they were healthy because they contained zucchini – not-so-much. But if it makes people feel better, then yes, they are super healthy 😉 In my opinion, dessert is not supposed to be healthy. That’s why it’s called dessert. Indulge every once in awhile. It’s fine. (Really, it is.)

Extra Fudgy Zucchini Brownies

Adapted From: Chef In Training)
  • 1/2 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1 1/2-2 c. finely shredded zucchini (I used my food processor for this)
  • 1/2 c. chocolate chunks

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 pan with butter or butter spray. Mix oil, sugar and vanilla together in a large bowl. Beat in egg. Add flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and mix until blended. Add zucchini and blend. Fold in chocolate chips. Bake 25-20 minutes or until done.

For the frosting…

The frosting makes the brownies, in my opinion. It’s super sugary, but oh-so-good.

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. half-and-half (or milk – I used half-and-half because we don’t drink regular milk)
  • 6 Tbsp. cocoa
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Melt butter, half-and-half and cocoa in a microwave safe bowl. When melted, add powdered sugar and vanilla and stir until smooth. Spread over cooled brownies.

*No picture exists because I literally made these, went to bed, then they travelled in my school bag all day to my friend’s house. At that point, a the brownies looked rather defeated (but still delicious)!

This entry was posted in Brownies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

