Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

A group of my sixth grade girls were a bit jealous last week when another sixth grade teacher brought her kids an array of baked goods. I tried to blame my husband for my lack of delicacies, but my students weren’t buying it. Being the pre-teens that they are, they had a few choice words about the situation:

“He must be fat if he eats all of that.”

“Why does he eat all the cookies? We are more important!”

“I’m never marrying a guy who eats my food.”

So I vowed I’d make a special treat, just for my children from another mother (who sometimes accidentally refer to me as “mom.”)

Honestly, with all of the food allergies out there today, I’m always a bit hesitant to make anything from scratch and serve it to students. I think at some point, this was frowned upon, but when schools and organizations frequently hold bake sales, I can’t say I see a huge difference.

After a huge debate over what I should bake, most of my girls agreed on double chocolate chip cookies. Because you really can’t go wrong with chocolate.

Being that they will be devouring these on a Monday morning, I decided it would be best if I made cookies the “old-fashioned” way – with shortening. My mom was a huge fan of the Crisco. I think she used to buy it in tubs and I’m sure if you ask anyone from the Midwest who bakes, it’s probably their fat of choice when it comes to cookies. I had to give these girls my best, fatty effort because while I am my own worst critic, middle schoolers are even worse.

I searched a few recipes and found one that, after reading the comments, I altered quite a bit. Will they be approved by my children (husband included)? Stay tuned to find out…

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from: All Recipes
  • 1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c. Crisco
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla extractIMG_4398

Mix the above ingredients until creamy. In a separate bowl, mix together the following:

  • 2 c. flour
  • 2/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix thoroughly. Add in 1/2 c. white chocolate chips and a 1/2 c. milk chocolate chips. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 min.

Kid in a candy shop...

Look who had to get in a taste…

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Drop cookies onto baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack. Hide them from husband.

Straight out the oven

Straight out the oven

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

