Lemon Meringue Pie

I have probably only had lemon meringue pie twice in my life, but while drinking this morning’s coffee, I stumbled upon a recipe for it and immediately began salivating.  Perhaps this recipe spoke to me because lemons make me think of spring and I desperately need some warm weather in my life.

I actually had all of the ingredients on hand, even cream of tartar, thanks to an impromptu purchase a few weeks ago at Philly’s Italian Market.  I purchased a pre-made pie crust because I like making my life easier.

IMG_2949

The recipe was very simple to follow, but I recommend measuring out all of your ingredients before you even begin, as this recipe requires much stirring, which leaves little time to stop and measure stuff.

I beat the egg whites, cream of tartar and sugar in my KitchenAid (thanks mom!) with the wire whip attachment.  If you set it around 5-6, just let it go for a good 10 minutes or so in order for hard peaks to form.

The recipe called for Baker’s Sugar, which is the same as putting it in the food processor, although my food processor didn’t really do much grinding of the sugar, so I’m not sure if it makes that much of a difference.

 

Lemon Meringue Pie (adapted from The Glamorous Housewife)

  • 3 egg whites
  • 6 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar

Mix all of the above ingredients together, adding the sugar 1 Tbsp. at a time.   Once hard peaks are formed, you’re golden.

  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. corn starch
  • 1 1/2 c. water
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 c. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. grated lemon rind

Melt the sugar and corn starch over medium heat and slowly add in the water, stirring constantly.  Your arm will get a nice workout making this pie!  Bring to a boil for 1 minute, then take off the heat.  Gradually add the sugar mixture to the egg yolks (I added 1/4 c. at a time because I was so afraid my eggs would become scrambled!) Once the sugar mixture and egg yolks are blended, place back on the burner and bring to a boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and add the butter, lemon juice and grated lemon rind.  Once combined, pour into your pre-cooked pie shell.  Top with the meringue, making sure it reaches the edges of the pie.  Baker for around 8 minutes at 375 degrees or until the peaks are golden brown.  Cool completely before slicing up to serve!

Clearly, I need a pie server.

Clearly, I need a pie server.

This entry was posted in Pie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

