Christmas with the Crinkles

Disclaimer: I never made crinkle cookies prior to this year.  And I can’t stop!

After a successful batch of Peppermint Crinkles, I had some candy canes leftover and thought, why not make Candy Cane crinkles?! I also saw a super delish recipe on Pinterest that added fuel to my cookie fire.

Since this was another peppermint cookie, I think Felix was feeling left out.  Why doesn’t every one love peppermint?! I don’t get it.  Anyway, my sweet suggested I also make Lemon Crinkles, so I divided the batter in half so we could both be happy.  The result was spectacular.  Both crinkle cookies came out wonderfully (although I do prefer the candy cane version!)

Candy Cane Crinkles

Adapted from: Lauren’s Latest

1/2 c. butter, softened photo (5)

1 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (or go for peppermint if you really want a minty cookie)

1 large egg

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. crushed candy canes 

powdered sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Crush candy canes and set aside (I put them in a ziploc bag and crushed them with a whiskey bottle.  Whatever works!) Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add vanilla and egg and mix.  Stir together all dry ingredients (excluding the powdered sugar) and then slowly add to the wet ingredients.  Add in the crushed candy canes.  Roll dough into a small ball and slide it around in the powdered sugar.  Place evenly on baking sheet and bake about 10-12 minutes, or until the tops are glistening.

*For Lemon Crinkles, omit the vanilla and add about 1 Tbsp (or half a lemon) of lemon juice and about 1 tsp. lemon zest.  Oh, and leave out the candy canes for this version too!

This entry was posted in Cookies, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

