Mom’s Rice Krispy Treats

Who doesn’t love rice krispy treats? While the gooey marshmallow version is definitely a crowd pleaser, my mom never made her rice krispy treats this way.  She made them better.  With chocolate.  And peanut-butter.  Basically, she ruined the original rice krispy treat forever because whenever someone would bring up “rice krispy treat,” I would get super excited in a little kid way.  But that would immediately diminish once I realized those treats were not how Mom made them.

After hounding my mom for the recipe, which I can see on one of her laminated recipe cards from the 1980’s, I finally called her and pleaded for her to share her secret, which turned out to actually be an old neighbor’s recipe, but whatever.

When I finally got around to making these delicacies, I was surprised at how easy they were.  I tweaked the original recipe a bit, but they turned out just like Mom’s used to.  And I’m sure they’ll last about as long as Mom’s would too (1 day, tops).

photo (16)

Mom’s Rice Krispy Treats

1 c. butterscotch chips

1/2 c. peanut-butter

1 c. chocolate chips

4 cups rice krispy cereal

1/2 c. confectioners sugar

2 Tbsp. butter

2 Tbsp. peanut-butter

1 Tbsp. water

Directions: Melt butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup peanut butter until smooth.  Mix thoroughly into rice krispy cereal.  Layer half of the mixture into an 8×12 pan and refrigerate.  Next, melt chocolate chips, butter, water, confectioners sugar and 2 Tbsp. peanut-butter.  Once smooth, spread on top of the mixture you just put in the fridge.  Top with remaining rice krispy mixture and chill.

*I made a double layer of the rice krispy/butterscotch mixture because I used a 9×13 pan and also because I like a lot of rice krispy action!  I had to add about 3 Tbsp. of water so my chocolate mixture wouldn’t scorch, but I also don’t have a double broiler, so that may be my problem.

This entry was posted in Bars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

