Pumpkin Everything

Fall is my favorite season, despite the fact that it means the start of another school year.  To minimize my stress, I bake and when it’s fall, I bake with pumpkin.  To get me in the mood, I bought some amazingly expensive candles and hand soap at Bath and Bodyworks and then splurged for the brand-name canned pumpkin at Target.

Despite the five pounds of papers nestled in my school bag, I decided to pour myself a few glasses of Cabernet and whip up some cookies because someone has to celebrate the fact that we can sleep with the windows open and (finally) be able to make out just exactly what our neighbors are yelling about down the block.

I decided to half this recipe because 60 cookies is a lot.  However, I forgot that I was halving it when I added the baking powder and soda, so I tried to scrape it out of the bowl, but I’m sure I failed at that.  However, the cookies still look edible.

Here’s the recipe for the cookies and the frosting, adapted from this website.  I may have licked the bowl and the beaters to the frosting, which will give me enough of a sugar high to finish grading for the night.

Pumpkin Cookies with Brown Butter Frosting

Makes about 30 cookies, depending on the size

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 can of pumpkin

2 c. flour

Mix butter until fluffy then add the next 6 ingredients.  Add egg and vanilla and mix.  Add pumpkin. Slowly add flour.  Use a spoon to place on cookie sheets or parchment paper.  Baker for about 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden on top.

Frosting: (I made the full recipe because I love me some frosting; half this if you aren’t a frosting-lover)

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. dark brown sugar

1/4 c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

3 c. powdered sugar

Melt butter and brown sugar until smooth.  Stir in milk and vanilla.  Slowly add powdered sugar until you get the desired consistency.  My frosting was rather thick, so if you like a thinner frosting, use 2 cups of powdered sugar.

photo (15)

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

