Sunday Dinner

For me, summer means food. Not only do I actually have more time to shop than during the school year, but I have hours to waste on Pinterest salivating over all of the delicious food photos.

As I browsed the Italian Market this morning for fruits and veggies, I stopped in Cappuccios, my new favorite butcher shop as of late. I picked up some front cut pork chops (because more bone = more flavor) and of course, some of their famous sausages (chicken & apple makes breakfast taste amazing!)

For dinner, I was looking for a marinade, especially since I always fail when it comes to marinades. I’ll remember at 4:00 that something needs to marinate for 12 hours and then we’ll end up just grilling plan chops or making something up on the fly.

We had some Apple Pie Moonshine leftover from one of Felix’s Wine & Spirits impulse purchases. So I figured, why not put it to good use.

Here’s what we did:

1.) Mix some moonshine, honey and cayenne together

photo 1 (4)

The Jameson is for decoration 😉

2.) Put on chops and grill

photo 2 (4)

That’s asparagus in the foil

I also decided to make a sauce with some moonshine, chicken broth, diced onions, 1 Tbsp. corn starch and salt. I brought it to a boil, then let it simmer to it could thicken.

photo 3 (2)

For dessert, a.k.a., the most important part of the meal, lemon is not a taste I normally crave, but it’s refreshing in the summer. Plus, this certain recipe called for ricotta and lots of butter, two of Felix’s favorites.

I followed this recipe, but due to a typo, I added 3 eggs instead of the four (the type is now fixed). I’d say that you can make this with 3 eggs, but the baking time will need to be extended (I baked mine for about 35 minutes).

The result – a spectacular summer treat.

photo (10)

Best part of the meal!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Dinner

  1. I’m so glad that they turned out for you!! My husband took some of these bars in to work today 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

