“Chocolate” Mousse

Being that it’s Memorial Day Weekend, I just had to make some type of delicacy, even if Felix and I aren’t attending any BBQ’s.  Since everyone in Philly is “down the shore,” I’m swamped with pet-sits, so I needed something quick and easy (and preferably, healthy since last night’s dinner consisted of jalapeno poppers, pizza and beer).

So, I decided upon something chocolate (obviously).  I found a paleo recipe for Chocolate Mousse, the main ingredient being avocado.  Well I love me some avocados, so I couldn’t pass this up.

I made some alterations to the recipe, the main one being that I melted a cup of chocolate chips and added it to the mixture.  I felt as if it tasted too “avocadoey” without some added chocolate.

I also used whole milk instead of coconut milk because we have 2 gallons of milk since we both bought one thinking the other person wasn’t going to.  

Overall, the mousse turned out okay; not as chocolately as I would like, but then again, I’m a choc-o-holic.  Next time, I may try adding some chocolate protein powder in place of some of the cocoa.  

“Chocolate” Mousse (adapted from: Girls Gone Strong

  • 3 ripe avocados (this made 2 8oz. glasses worth)
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder (I added a bit more)
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • handful of shredded coconut
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips, melted over a double broiler

Beat the avocados until creamy (I recommend a blender, but we don’t have one so I used a mixer).  Add remaining ingredients and blend.

photo (21)

Overall, I’m pleased with how it came out.  There are a few things I would do differently next time, such as not using the coconut (it was chewy) and possibly using the coconut milk instead.  Of course, chocolate mousse is not complete without whipped cream.  I had some on hand from Trader Joe’s, but seriously, it took forever to beat.  We finally broke out the mixer.  However, this mousse is very filling…perhaps it’s the avocado.  After all, it is a fat 😉

IMG_0802

 

 

This entry was posted in Pudding/Custards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

