Midnight Cookies

Considering I almost stayed up until midnight last night, I thought it appropriate to make some midnight cookies.

Felix and I hosted a housewarming party yesterday evening.  And yes, it was warm in our 450 square foot apartment, which we somehow managed to squeeze about 15-20 people into.  All in good fun though.

One of my long-time friends, Nicole, surprised me with an amazing cookbook filled with sweet treats.  Not only is this my first cookbook since I sadly got rid of my others prior to moving nearly a year ago, but it is chuck-full of mouth-watering goodies, all of which I intend on making.  Which is why I found it difficult to choose just one recipe to start with.  In the end, I decided that I was too tired/hungover/lazy to run to the supermarket for any ingredients, so I made something from items I already had on hand.

Midnight Cookies (Yields about 2 dozen cookies or so.  I honestly lost count we were eating too many.  But it definitely makes more than a dozen.)

  • 9 tbsp. butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Mix butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add in the egg and vanilla and mix until smooth.  Slowly add the flour, baking soda and cocoa until well-blended.  Roll dough into walnut-sized balls and roll in sugar.  Place on baking sheet and bake for about 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.

I played around with the baking time.  I like my cookies chewy, so I took the first two batches out right as they set and let the last batch go a bit longer.  I preferred the more “done” cookies; they looked prettier too (less flat).  But let’s face it, they all tasted amazing.  I should know, I ate like 5 of those suckers.

The perfect snack, even before midnight.

The perfect snack, even before midnight.

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Midnight Cookies

  1. Nicole says:

    Yay! I am so glad the book yielded a good recipe 🙂

  2. Pingback: Double Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies | A. Baker Bakes

Leave a Reply

