Chocolate Ramecake for One

Lately, I’ve been into single serving desserts.  Mostly because I lack self-control when it comes to anything that contains chocolate.  But also due to the fact that I’ve been super short on time.  And I’m impatient.  I don’t have time to wait 30-45 minutes for my dessert, especially when I’m eating dinner at 8:00p.m. and going to bed shortly thereafter.  (We are morning people.  Like 4:30 a.m. morning.  Well, at least Felix is.)

I’ve seen a few recipes for individual microwaveable chocolate cakes, but had never tried one.  It looked fairly easy and not very time-consuming.  Plus, I didn’t want to eat an entire bag of chocolate chips (which is my version of a “quicky” dessert).

I’m calling these “Ramecakes” because I put them in ramekins.  And I like making up words.

On my first attempt, I used mashed up bananas in place of the oil because I didn’t have the type of oil the recipe called for.  The cake came out rather dry and the bananas did not mix into the batter well.  Even Felix wouldn’t eat it, so I knew I had to try again.

Attempt number two turned out magical.  I put vanilla ice cream on top and Felix and I shared the ramecake (actually, I ate most of it while he ate the leftover batter from said ramecake.  Everyone wins!)

Chocolate Ramecake (adapted from: Chocolate Covered Katie)

  • 1 tbsp. plus 2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp. flour
  • 3 tsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 tsp. oil (I used Canola because that’s all we had)
  • 3 tbsp. milk
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix dry ingredients well.  Then add wet ingredients and blend everything together.  Put in the microwave for about 30 seconds.  If it looks under-done, cook a bit longer.  For me, it took about 40 seconds.  But everyone’s microwave is different.

Top with vanilla ice cream.  Follow with a glass of red wine 🙂

photo (14)

This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

