Cookie Cups

It’s official – we’re all moved into our apartment.  Well, except for the piles of clothes that adorn the bedroom floor, I’d say we’re doing pretty good for moving across the country and back in less than a year.

With much of our time being consumed with stalking Craigslist for cheap furniture finds, I’ve definitely set aside some quality time for me to get acquainted with my new kitchen.  Thanks to the generosity of my family and friends, I’ve also accumulated some new bake ware, including…a MIXER!  It’s hand-held, but it sure beats (haha, get it) the heck out of using all of my (and Felix’s) strength stirring batter.

Of course, I had to test out all of my new toys, which brought me to making Cookie Cups.  I acquired cute white ramekins from a friend, which were perfect for this dessert.  Perhaps even better is all the leftover dough I have in the freezer (that is, if Felix can keep his mitts off of it).

Cookie Cups (adapted from: Blue Eyed Bakers)

  • 2 sticks butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Mix the above ingredients until fluffy.  Use an electric mixer for this.  Seriously.  Or consider it your strength workout for the day.

  • 2 eggs, beat into the mixture one at a time
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups flour
  • Chocolate chips/broken up bits of Hershey’s (as much as you like.  I didn’t measure this, but eyeballed it until it was to my liking.)

Pour mixture into ramekins until about 3/4 full.  Bake at 375 for approximately 15 minutes.  I learned that my oven bakes slowly, so just keep checking it until the top is golden.  You want them slightly under-done for a chewy taste.

Top with vanilla ice cream and serve immediately.  You can thank me later 😉

photo (10)

Either freeze the rest of the dough or make more cookie cups.  I chose to freeze it because really, we don’t need to eat a cookie cup every night this week (although that does sound like a challenge I am willing to accept).

 

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookie Cups

  1. Nicole says:

    This looks delicious, and I love that you can portion it out. I will have to try out the recipe post-cleanse.

Leave a Reply

