Brown Sugar Cookies, Squared

Felix loves brown sugar.  Or so I thought.  When I asked him why he loves brown sugar so much, he said, “I love all cookies.”

Apparently, I had the idea that he was a huge fan of brown sugar, which led me to search for brown sugar cookie recipes.  Good thing brown sugar cookies fall into the “all cookies” category.

Turns out, there are lots of brown sugar cookie recipes out there, but I found one that I could not pass up.  Brown sugar cookies with brown sugar frosting?! Say no more.

Honestly, I thought about renaming this recipe to Frosted D’Angelo’s.  But I realized that, 1.) Some people wouldn’t understand my 90’s musical reference; 2.) This song is still freaking awesome. (*I’ve included a YouTube clip for your viewing pleasure.  You’re welcome.)

Brown Sugar Cookies, Squared (Adapted from: Cookies and Cups)

  • 14 tbsp. butter

Melt butter in saucepan until it turns a carmel-like color.  Allow to cool.

  • 1  3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 2  1/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. vanilla
  • Brown sugar/white sugar for rolling

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt together; set aside.  Once butter cools, add brown sugar and mix until no longer lumpy.  Add vanilla and eggs and mix thoroughly.  (The original recipe calls for one egg and one egg yolk, but I accidentally dropped the entire egg into the mixture.  The cookies still turned out fabulous.)  Slowly add flour mixture to wet mixture.  Roll cookie dough into balls, then roll balls into brown/white sugar mixture.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes, or until edges begin to brown.

Brown sugar Frosting:

  • 3 tbsp. butter
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar

Melt butter and brown sugar.  Bring to a boil for one minute, then remove from heat.  Let cool 10 min.

Mix in 1/4 c. milk and approximately 2 cups powdered sugar until the consistency of the frosting is something you like.  I didn’t measure the powdered sugar because it’s too messy to do so.  My frosting turned out lumpy, but it gives my cookies character.

Brown sugary goodness.

Brown sugary goodness.

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

