Fluffy Pancakes with Berries

Most people are celebrating the fact that today is Easter; I’m celebrating the fact that tonight is the season premiere of Game of Thrones.

Seriously, I can’t believe I just wrote that, as I’m probably the person who is the least bit interested in the fantasy genre.  However, Felix got me to watch the show and I was immediately hooked, mostly because of all the scandal  John Snow.

So in honor of this highly anticipated “holiday,” I decided to make a hearty breakfast.  I also wanted to cure my hangover headache (sugary mojitos tasted good last night…)

I decided to go with a fluffy pancake recipe, one that didn’t require buttermilk (since we had none).  I then thought I would get creative and try to caramelize some frozen berries, but neglected to look up a recipe on how to do so.  I don’t recommend that.  So despite the berries being extra sugary and warm from my caramelizing attempt, the pancakes turned out pretty delicious.  And fluffy.  My headache is gone already.  Bring on the dragons!

Fluffy Pancakes with Berries (adapted from All Recipes)

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp. white vinegar

Combine milk and vinegar in bowl; set aside.

  • 1 c. flour
  • 2 Tbsp. white sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1 bag frozen mixed berries

Combine dry ingredients.  Add egg and butter, then mix in the milk mixture.  Spray pan with cooking spray and use a 1/4 measuring cup to drop the batter into the skillet.  When bubbly, flip.  Serve with berries on top.

photo (49)

This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fluffy Pancakes with Berries

  1. Nicole says:

    Game of Thrones is my absolute favorite show. I couldn’t be more excited. I also seriously love the book series it is based on, if you are looking for something to read.The pancakes look tasty too!

Leave a Reply

