Chocolate Silk Challah French Toast

Breakfast is probably my favorite meal.  I’ve ALWAYS been a huge fan of breakfast, even when I was a teenager downing cocoa puffs and Little Debbie’s for my first meal of the day.  A lover of chocolate, thankfully, I have found a new (and less processed) way to get my fix first thing in the morning.

It’s no secret that I love Nutella.  However, when I saw that JIF came out with its version of the chocolate spread, I had to try it.

photo (47)Chocolate Silk is the perfect combination of my two favs: chocolate and peanut butter.  I actually prefer the taste to Nutella (gasp!) Nutella can sometimes be too rich for my liking, but Chocolate Silk is, well, amazing.  And it comes in little to-go cups, which makes it super easy to take anywhere and eat as a snack (just pack a spoon!)

Yesterday, I bought Felix some Challah bread as a gift for driving me around to my dog-walking appointments on Friday (Seriously ladies, the way to a man’s heart: Food!) While sipping my coffee and watching the weatherman talk about the possibility of snow (again…ugh!), I decided I wanted to make breakfast.  So I began searching the Internet for recipes and found one I modified to suit my chocolate craving.

Chocolate Silk Challah French Toast (adapted from: 80 Breakfasts)

  • 2 Egg Challah buns, split in half
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 JIF Chocolate Silk to-go packet

Slice each bun in half.  Whisk milk and egg together.  Melt butter in a skillet.  Dredge challah buns in egg mixture until fully coated.  Place in skillet until golden brown on both sides.  Remove and immediately spread the chocolate silk on both sides.  Place together and devour!

photo (48)

Success!

Success!

 

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

