Snickerdoodle Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve tried my hand at many variations of snickerdoodles, only to be left unsatisfied with the results.  The snickerdoodle appears to be an uncomplex cookie, but it is quite the contrary.  And of course, it’s Felix’s favorite.

For awhile, I threw in the towel on snickerdoodles, figuring if Felix wanted some badly enough, he could purchase them at the grocery store.  But, it’s a known fact that I love a challenge, so when I came across a snickerdoodle recipe that called for chocolate chips, I just had to try it.

The outcome was what I consider my best snickerdoodle attempt to date.

photo (39)

Snickerdoodle Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from A Bitchin’ Kitchen)

  • 1/2 c. butter (room temperature)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 3/4 c. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. milk (I used whole)
  • 1/2 c. chocolate chips
  • sugar and cinnamon for rolling

Combine butter and sugar with a mixer until blended (I did this by hand.  I do not recommend it.  Felix had to help me and I uttered a few curse words under my breath while mixing.) Add the egg and vanilla and mix until combined.  Add the flour bits at a time so you don’t shower your counter top (and yourself) with it; add baking powder and cinnamon.  Add milk until the dough is not lumpy (for me, this was 2 tbsp.)  Stir in chocolate chips.  Refrigerate dough for at least 2 hours.  Roll into balls and dip into cinnamon/sugar mixture.  Bake for 10-12 min at 350 degrees.

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

