Stroganoff Off

Yesterday at work, my co-workers and I were deep in conversation about food, because as runners, we enjoy eating more than running.  Someone brought up beef stroganoff and I swear we were all salivating at the thought of it.  One of my colleagues boasted about his Nana’s take on this classic dish, then emailed the rest of us the recipe, as we all declared we would each make it and have a “Stroganoff Off.”

I wanted to try this because it’s not the stroganoff I’m used to (no beige sauce here!)  I was fairly surprised at how easy and tasty this meal turned out.  I altered the recipe a bit, using ground beef instead of turkey and rice in place of egg noodles, but overall, this will become a staple in my recipe repertoire.  Thanks, Nana Dev!

Nana Devlin’s Stroganoff

  • 1 lb ground beef (or turkey)
  • 1 28 oz. can condensed tomato soup
  • 6 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 6 Tbsp. red wine (I drank this instead.  Oops.)
  • Salt, pepper, garlic powder (how much/little you like)
  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 1 cup sour cream (or Greek yogurt)
  • Parsley for sprinkling

Chop the onion and brown with the beef.  Once beef is browned, stir in tomato soup, wine and lemon juice.  Bring to a boil.  Add sour cream or yogurt and heat through.  Serve over egg noodles or rice.

photo (34)

This entry was posted in Beef, Main Courses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

