Campfire Cookies

I’m not big on camping, or any form of “roughing it” that requires me to sleep on an uneven, cold surface.  However, I’m a huge fan of sitting by a bonfire and roasting some smores on a cool, fall night.

Unfortunately, bonfires are hard to come by in February.  So I thought I’d try my hand at what I am dubbing, Campfire Cookies.  I figure I was in Blue Birds as a little girl, so I have somewhat of a camping background, eh?!

There are many smores cookie recipes on the inter-webs  but I based my concoction from one recipe, altering a few ingredients here and there.

Campfire Cookies (adapted from Fahrenheit 350)

  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 c. butter

Mix until combined.  (Tip: Avoid doing this by hand if you can.  Someone get me a KitchenAid, please.  Or a cheap mixer from Walgreens.)

Add the following to the sugar/butter mixture and stir until combined:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 c. chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)
  • Marshmallow creme (for later)

Put dough in the fridge for about 2 hours.  I was impatient, so I stuck it in the freezer for a half hour.

Now here’s where I got all creative.  I wanted a stuffed cookie because I thought it would be cool.  So, I got some marshmallow creme (and ate a few spoonfuls…no judging!)

Roll dough into balls and put a bit of the creme in the middle.  This didn’t work too well for me, but I attribute it to the fact that my dough was too gooey.  However, it gave the cookies a decorative swirl appearance!

Bake for 10 minutes or so, let cool and devour!

photo (35)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

