Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Not having my own kitchen makes me somewhat cranky, especially on my day off and especially when I am in the mood for a home-made baked good.

A home-made healthy baked good.  Or somewhat healthy.  Really, something less carby than the junk I’ve recently been devouring (Chips-A-Hoy, Fig Newtons, Sour Jelly Beans).  If it’s in the vicinity, I’ll eat it.  My willpower around food is weak, especially if it’s junk food.

I stumbled upon a blogger who wrote a peanut butter cookbook (I want!) and I was hooked.  While I’ve dabbled in making gluten-free cookies before, I was curious to try a peanut butter variety.  The result is in Felix’s face:

Felix likes it, but also disliked the fact that I was taking his picture.

He liked it, but also disliked the fact that I was taking his picture.

I’m sure Felix will be thrilled when he sees his mug on the blog.

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies (adapted from: Averie Cooks)

  • 1 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar (I used dark)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla

Combine ingredients.  I did this with a wooden spoon and surprisingly, my arm didn’t fall off.

  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 Hershey’s bars, chopped into small pieces

Mix baking soda and chocolate into batter.  Cover with foil or store in an air-tight container.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Roll dough into balls and press lightly with a fork to flatten.  Bake for 8-10 minutes* (I used a convention oven since that was what was available to me.  I was uncertain of the baking time, but it seemed that 10 minutes worked.  Obviously, it depends on your oven, so just watch the cookies and take out while they’re still a bit gooey).

Overall, I was pleased with my gluten-free conquest. Next time, I think I would try using chocolate chips, as the Hershey chunks didn’t melt too well.

Tip: Try sprinkling with sea salt for some extra zing!

Gluten free means I can eat as many as I want, right?!

Gluten free means I can eat as many as I want, right?!

 

 

One thought on “Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

